Beavers are usually aged between six and eight years old, though they can be as young as five and three quarters.


Earlier entry is at the Beaver Scout Leader's discretion (for example, to allow someone a little bit younger to join at the same time as their friends).


A group of Beaver Scouts is called a Colony, and each Colony can be split up into smaller groups called Lodges.

Beavers have a Promise and Motto, but there is not a Beaver Scout Law. The concepts of the Scout Law are presented to Beavers through games, storytelling and other informal devices.

Badges and awards

There is a range of badges and awards available to young people in the Beaver Scout Section.

Activity badges

Many of the badges available are activity badges, which allow Beaver Scouts to show their progress in existing pursuits, but also to try all kinds of new things and form new interests.

Challenge badges

Gaining a challenge badge involves accomplishing a number of more ambitious tasks within the Colony or community. There are several challenge badges across a number of themes, from the physical and outdoorsy to challenges dealing with the local community or issues connected with the Scouting world.

Core badges

In addition, there are a number of core badges, obtained upon joining or moving on from the Colony, or for time spent in the Scouting movement.

Activity packs

Some activity badges are sponsored by outside companies, and these companies often provide extra exciting resource packs to help Beaver Scouts towards gaining their badges.

Balanced Programme

The Scout Association  has a Programme that aims to promote the growth and development of children and young people. The philosophy underpinning the programme is that every Beaver Scout should participate in a Balanced Programme over a period of time. Providing your Beaver Scouts with a programme that is both balanced and exciting is one of the most rewarding challenges for our leaders.

What we offer to young people in the Beaver Scout section is a range of activities, events and experiences built around six Programme Zones.

Young people experience scouting by regularly taking part in quality activities, drawn from each Programme Zone (or self development area for scout network). Personal achievement can be recognised by earning awards and badges leading to the chief scout’s awards and the Queen’s scout award.

We deliver the activities across the Programme Zones using a variety of Methods, and the final element of the Balanced Programme for Beaver Scouts is the Bottom Line - a list of things you'd hope to see going on if you were to walk into a typical Colony meeting.

Community Web Kit provided free by BT